Table Cape Lighthouse - Maritime history
Just a 10 minute drive from Wynyard’s main street, the viewing platform at the Table Cape carpark offers easy access to breathtaking views, including the 180m drop to crashing waves of the Bass Strait. It was the treachery of these waters that necessitated the construction of the Table Cape Lighthouse, which was first lit up at 5pm on 1st August 1888. One hundered years later it was permanently entered into the Tasmanian Heritage Register in recognitoin of its importance to maritime history in Tasmania.
Kenworthy Stamper Mill
Next door to the Tarkine Interpretation Centre is an impressive display of working machinery used by local, Dudley Kenworthy. Kenworthy continued prospecting for tin near Mount Bischoff mine after it closed in the 1940s. Visitors can view the process for themselves with the push the button.
Athenaeum Hall and Tarkine Interpretation Centre
Visitors to Waratah will appreciate this building’s historic beauty. Built in 1886 and now serving as the Tarkine Interpretation Centre the Athenaeum Hall has an abundance of books, visitor information and interpretive displays about the neighbouring Tarkine rainforest. The hall itself gives an impressive welcome as you step on to the original Tasmanian myrtle floors and look to the larger-than-life mural surrounding the stage.
Entry is by donation. Opening hours are from 10am - 2pm, Thursdays to Saturdays. The centre is closed during the winter period (from April 28 to November 1). Group bookings may be arranged outside these times on 03 6439 7100.
Stroll across the street from the Athenaeum Hall the Waratah Museum offers you a close-up and personal experience of Waratah’s collection of historic memorabilia. Photographs, newspapers and historical artefacts from tin mining are on display.
Entry is by donation. Opening hours are from 10am - 3pm, Sundays to Tuesdays. Group bookings may be arranged outside these times on 03 6439 7100.
Ransley Veteran Ford Collection
This collection is a must-see for the nostalgic car enthusiast. Wynyard local and Ford-enthusiast, Francis Ransley offers his world class collection of locally restored veteran Fords to over 38,000 visitors a year. The permanent exhibition of over 14 motor vehicles includes the equal oldest Ford in the world, the 1903 Model A. This toured 58 locations around Australia covering more than 28,000kms to celebrate Ford’s centenary year in 2003. The collection can be seen at the Wonders of Wynyard Exhibition Centre, 8 Exhibition Link, Wynyard. Opening hours are 9am – 5pm, 7 days. Entry fees are paid on arrival at the following rates:
$8 Adult | $7 Senior/conc. | $3.50 Child (under 15 years) | $18 Family l $4.50 Group (15 or more)